HWR Saturday Results

Preliminary results from the first day of the Henley Women’s Regatta are in.

Exeter’s four, consisting of (from cox to bow) Andrea Nortey, Kate Morris, Anna Johnson, Catie Lucy, and Jess Flakne, was entered in the Senior 4+ event against an international field of college crews. Though Exeter was ahead at the start of their dual race, the much older University of London Women’s Boat Club came back to win in the end.

Exeter’s eight, consisting of (from cox to bow) Hannah Woodruff, Allison Courtin, Rory Erickson-Kulas, Erin Metcalf, Lizzy McDermott, Nancy McKinstry, Rebecca Kisner, Katrina Regan and Catherine McDermott, “easily” beat King’s School, Worcester (of Worcester, England) in the quarter-finals and will proceed to the semi-finals. The term “easily” is traditionally used when a boat wins by over five lengths and specifying the distance would be rude. Tomorrow at 14:05 UK time (9:05 EST) they will race local archenemy Phillips Andover (of Andover, Massachusetts) for a spot in the Grand Finals. This season Exeter’s girls’ first has a 2-1 record against Andover, including a 0.2 second victory at the NEIRA Championship Regatta. The schools in the other semifinal race are local rival St. Paul’s School (of Concord, New Hampshire) and South Niagara/E.L. Crossley (an affiliated school and club from Welland and Fonthill, Ontario). The winners of each semifinal will race in the Grand Final at 16:30 UK time (11:30 EST) for the Peabody Cup.



Comments are closed.

©2018 Exeter Crew & Dan Mahr — Site Info